top of page

But You Get What You Need

As I look over the landscape of the publishing world we live in, I can’t but be excited. Seriously, there are so many options for writers these days. Sure, most of them might not lead to a lucrative career, but together they culminate in attaining the goals any writer seeks: Exposure.

It’s easy to send a manuscript or story out to your friends and family, of which maybe one or two will read it out of sympathy and tell you (regardless of whether or not it’s true) that they loved it. But to get that same story into the hands of complete strangers? Not as simple to do. At least in the past.

The advent of the internet and eReaders has really created a publishing revolution wherein gatekeepers can be bypassed and anyone can hit “publish” and put their work out there through various online platforms. Whether or not that’s a good thing is a debate for another time, but the point is YOU CAN PUBLISH.

Yes, YOU.

Rewind a few years and I was just another dreamer who wanted to be a writer. Filled with big ideas and no clue what to do with them. Now will I lie and say it’s been easy? Absolutely not. It requires discipline, sacrifice, and perhaps a little insanity. It requires you have something worth saying, something unique to share. Something that drives you to finish. Talent, an understanding of craft, an unflinching determination in the face of rejection because yeah, there’s a lot of that. But I can say it’s worth it. In so many ways.

Speaking of rejection, I received news this weekend that my second novel in The Creation Series, “Let There Be Death,” was passed on by Kindle Press. This didn’t come as a surprise; putting the second book up in a series doesn’t make for an easy win with a publisher, especially when it’s not a stand-alone but a continuation of the first book. I knew that going in.

I also wasn’t sure if this book was right for Kindle Press. It’s a difficult series to pin down under a single genre which makes it tougher to sell. But it’s also a book, and series, I believe in.

By submitting the book to Kindle Scout, my exposure to this series has grown exponentially. I’ve had so many people reach out through email or my website expressing interest, signing up for my newsletter, or wishing me luck (or condolences, not that they’re needed). Would I have been excited to have this book selected? Sure. But I’m equally as excited to have full autonomy with the series to do with it what I want.

With that being said, I’m thrilled to share that The Creation: Let There Be Death will be available toward the end of this month in both print and digital.

As a THANK YOU to all those who helped support the book in its campaign on Kindle Scout, I’ll be releasing the book on Amazon at just $.99 for the first week.

I appreciate every one of you who clicked “nominate,” who helped spread the word and continue to believe and support my passion.

I can’t wait to hear the reactions with where this series is headed. Book Three has already been started and should be available before the end of the year, as well as a separate stand alone novel I have almost completed.

See, there’s a lot to be excited about.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

To add comments, complaints or funny emoji, visit Behrg's Wordpress Blog

Return to HOME PAGE

bottom of page