top of page

A Kindle Scout Review - One Year Later

Today is almost a year to the date that I was notified by Amazon that my psychological thriller novel, Housebroken, had been selected for publication by the Kindle Scout team.

I remember the moment fondly. I was surrounded by family while visiting my brother and sister-in-law over the Thanksgiving holiday, and they actually received notice before I did that my novel had been selected! (An email goes out to everyone who “votes” for a book through KindleScout when a novel is awarded a publishing contract). It was an overwhelming sensation, the validation of one’s work combined with the relief after a grueling month of “campaigning” in order to garner attention during the month long Kindle Scout campaign.

When I submitted my book to the Kindle Scout program, I didn’t know what to expect. I was in the first round of books with the KS announcement and the competition was fierce. Add to that the fact that this was my debut novel and I had absolutely no “platform” as an author or social media expertise. But I did have a book I believed in. I’ll be forever grateful that I wasn’t the only one.

While my life hasn’t radically changed since the publication of my novel, it has been the first in many steps in my journey as an author. Within this year’s timespan I’ve published a second novel, The Creation, which is the first in a new series, and had several short stories accepted in various anthologies (a few which are yet to come out). My experience working with the Kindle Press team has been exceptional and to any would-be authors out there, I can’t say enough about the doors this program continues to open for me.

I’m thrilled to share as well that Housebroken is a Kindle Daily Deal in the UK today! It’s amazing to see the experimentation that continues to take place with all of the Kindle Scout published novels. Being published by an Amazon imprint certainly has its advantages.

One year later, and the journey’s still beginning. I’m excited to see what the next year will bring.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

To add comments, complaints or funny emoji, visit Behrg's Wordpress Blog

Return to HOME PAGE

bottom of page